The winner of the Royal Navy Club annual prize 2021 has been announced as Lt Cdr Hugo Floyer. The 2020 prize was won by Lt Cdr Dan Briscoe, but operational and COVID-19 restrictions conspired to prevent the prize being presented in person. Both prizes were presented to the deserving winners at the Founders’ Day dinner on 3 February 2022 by the First Sea Lord, Admiral Sir Ben Key KCB CBE ADC. The Royal Navy Club introduced an annual prize in 2017 very much associated with our core ethos of sea command.

It recognises the student performing best at the Command Qualification 2 (CQ2) Board, including the ubiquitous Rule of the Road ( the current day equivalent of sea command exams many of the membership may remember with fondness!).